On the last day of the term Mr Alistair Wellmann gave an interesting talk on North Korea to the Form 4 history classes. Mr Wellman, who was in Newnham House before completing his education in the United Kingdom, recently travelled to North Korea. In his audio visual presentation he gave the boys an insight into what life under the totalitarian regime was like. The boys found his talk both interesting and relevant. They were challenged to recognize that the foundations of democracy need to be upheld at all costs.


Last Updated (Monday, 28 July 2014 14:09)



At the beginning of term, another five exchange students from our partner schools arrived to spend about five weeks at Hilton (Chris Walwande from Framlingham in England had already arrived at the end of last term.) 

Last Updated (Thursday, 24 July 2014 11:04)

Read more...


All the best to Tristan Blewett for the U18 Coca-Cola Craven Week.  Good luck to the KZN Sharks U18 team

Last Updated (Wednesday, 16 July 2014 10:08)



It was wonderful to welcome our grandparents to the school today.  Grandparents travelled from as far as Australia and Zimbabwe to attend. This is a very special day in our calendar which started with a chapel service,   two wonderful tributes to grandparents by Jono Smithers and Douglas Dorward, items from our talented Music Department and then a scrumptious tea on the lawns.

It was fantastic to have such a good turnout and our boys appreciated their grandparents joining them for this special occasion.

Last Updated (Monday, 28 July 2014 13:57)

Read more...


The Ellis boys were very excited to move back into their House today!


During the last week of term, both matric French classes went away for an intensive “stage”, as it is termed in French.  We managed to cover a surprising and gratifying amount of work: the end of the short story; all seven prescribed poems; two films; and a lot of oral in between. The boys were accommodated in wooden bungalows, but we ate together at the conference centre for the first day, and then at the restaurant for the second day.

Last Updated (Sunday, 20 July 2014 22:12)

Read more...


The Fleur de Lys Magazine is a quarterly publication which sums up the important activities and news from the preceding term. It is available here in PDF format.



hilton_village myschool