Canoeing was started some 30 years ago at Hilton College. We currently have about 20 Canoeists in Summer and Winter canoeing is reserved for the elite paddler representing KZN or SA at various disciplines. We participate in an Inter-Schools League in Terms 1, 3 and 4 which covers most of the Canoeing disciplines like Sprints, Flat Water Marathon, Slalom, Canoe Polo, Enduro, Surf-Ski and obviously River Paddling.

After one season some of the paddlers also compete in KZN Canoeing Union races, usually on Sundays and many paddle big races such as the Fish, Duzi, 50 Miler, Umkomazi and the Drakensberg Challenge. Boys can join our sport in January or after the Winter sport season. We train on Deeside dam on Tuesdays and Thursdays and compete in Schools races on Saturdays and KZN Canoeing Union races on Sundays. In winter, on a Saturday we head down to Durban to surfski and compete in the various surf ski series races. Our top paddlers can also compete in the weekly Duzi Dice on Thursdays at Camps Drift as well.

Fixtures

All Fixtures

Date Event Venue
Saturday 6 January KFC Mooiriver Race Midlands
Sunday 7 January Lion's River Race Midlands
Sunday 14 January 50 Miler  
Saturday 20 to Sunday 21 January Drak Challenge Underberg
Saturday 27 January Dash and Crash K1&K2  
Sunday 28 January Campbells to Dusi Bridge PMB
Saturday 3 February Lion's River - Epworth Midlands
Sunday 4 February Inanda Dam to Durban Inanda Dam
Saturday 10 February Upper Umgeni - TWC  
Sunday 11 February Dusi Open Day  
Thursday 15 to Saturday 17 February Dusi Canoe Marathon  
Saturday 24 to Sunday 25 February Umzimkhulu - MHS  
Friday 2 March Non-Stop Dusi  
Saturday 3 March Bushman's - Hilton  
Saturday 11 March Hella Hella to Josephines Umkomaas
Saturday 17 to Sunday 18 March Umko Umkomaas
Saturday 24 to Sunday 25 March Tugela Marathon  
Saturday 31 March to Sunday 1 April KZN Sprints  
Monday 2 to Wednesday 4 April SA Schools Sprints  
Friday 6 to Sunday 8 April SA Sprints  
Saturday 1 July Season Opener: Upper Umgeni  
Saturday 28 to Sunday 29 July Tugela 20/20  
Saturday 4 to Sunday 5 August KZN Marathon Champs  
Saturday 11 to Sunday 12 August SA Marathon Champs  
Saturday 26 August Alex Caruth #2  
Saturday 2 September Jock Claasens  
Friday 15 September Liebenburg Vlei  
Saturday 16 September Liebenburg Vlei & Fezela Classic  
Saturday 23 September Nobby Nel  
Friday 5 to Saturday 6 October Fish Marathon  
Saturday 14 October Table Mountain Descent  
Saturday 20 to Sunday 21 October Dam to Dam  
Saturday 28 October Umpheta Challenge  
Saturday 11 November Ibis Pt to Diptank  
Friday 17 November Ithala  
Saturday 25 November Ozzie Gladwin  

Copyright © 2019 Hilton College. All Rights Reserved.